Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for June 5th, 2009

Ghost Light Constellation

A few weeks ago at a Deerhunter show Bradford Cox took the stage after a set by The Pains of Being Pure at Heart and announced, “It looks like 1991 up here.” It wasn’t clear whether or not he meant their attire or their sound but to me it seemed to lean more towards the former than the latter, because to me they captured none of the visceral melodicism that made many shoegaze artists intriguing.  I’ve been reveling in the wake of the recent onslaught of  shoegazy noisy melodic drone pop, but it has taken a lot of sorting because plenty of it is pretty disposable. Groups such as Dum Dum Girls, Night Control and now Dead Mellotron have just totally nailed it recently and are crafting some of the most addicting start of summer-bedroom-gazing-out-the-window pop I’ve heard since Cryptograms hit the streets. This album is everything Wavves proved not to be, cathartic – lasting, sound sense of melody, sincere and more than anything not hype-headed into the ground.  You can download the album in full for free from his myspace page here.

Dead Mellotron – Nothing I Ever Imagined

Dead Mellotron – Shame

Dead Mellotron – I hate the way things are … Sounds  something like Risky Business meets Summer 2009

Devin

Read Full Post »

Allow me to go out on a limb for a moment and say that I think The Pretty Things album S.F. Sorrow is the best psychedelic album of the 60’s. If you dig Grizzly Bear, I think they took a page or two from many of the innovations the Pretty Things created.

Exhibit A

The Pretty Things sing “Death” from their album S.F. sorrow in France in 1968:


Read Full Post »