Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for August 25th, 2009

With the myriad of doo-wop and soul tinged low fi summer tunes this summer it seems appropriate to mention Gino Washington, who is one of my favorite soul artists that although lesser known is still incredible nonetheless. Straight out of Detroit, Gino Washington was known for being a bit more raw, soulful and Rock n’ Roll than his contemporaries-his career was only stunted by being drafted to fight in the war just before going national. To my ear he sounds somewhere between Arthur Alexander and younger Sam Cooke, but still stands on his own.

Download 4 tracks of Gino Washington’s best work here.

Or stream/download what I think are his two strongest songs..

Gino Washington – Like my Baby

Just the right amount of everything..

Gino Washington – Puppet on  A String

A grittier and darker song.

…and my favorite Arthur Alexander(mostly known from Beatles/Stones cover fame) track for good measure:

Easily one of the best R&B songs ever penned

Read Full Post »

I don’t know why it doesn’t dawn on me more often to post up random  things I’m listening to  that aren’t always the easiest to track down.  I think it’s due to our readership being pretty damn musically knowledgeable. For example, last weeks rad commenter who mentioned the similarities between the Real Estate Jam I posted and this (totally new to me) amazing song by Rino Gaetano, a famous 60’s Italian musician.

Moving on, I was always drawn in by the amazing Nashville Skyline opener Girl From North County where Dylans dramatically different croon makes its first appearance and is only made all the more intriguing when Cash’s vocals come forth a minute in. For awhile I thought that was it for the Dylan and Cash collaboration, but delving just barely deeper into the lost Dylan album legacy you find Land of the free  home of the brave, 25 tracks featuring Dylan and Cash’s lost (album) collaboration. There’s something about these recordings that make a lot of sense right now. Plenty to read about them here..but more importantly you can download it right here:

Bob Dylan and Johnny Cash – Nashville Skyline Sessions: Land of the free  home of the brave

755279

Devin

Read Full Post »